You can define which courses are accessible to students based on their group membership.
Use Student Groups to update course accessibility as well as course visibility:
- If a course is visible to a select group, this means students with group permission to this course can see the course details, curriculum, and registration options for the course.
- Note: If students outside of this student group have access to this course URL, they'll be able to enroll in the course.
- If a course is accessible to a select group, only students with explicit permissions can see the course details, curriculum page, and registration options. Students outside of the select group will not be able to enroll in the course. Use the "Strictly enforce group access" option to apply this logic.
Step 1: Create a group
You will first need to create a student group and assign students to that group.
Step 2: Update the Group Access
Within the dashboard, you can update group access at the published course level or on the group settings page.
Published Course Settings:
From Domains & Publishing, you can update the Group Access setting for a course that has already been published, or update it at the time of publishing.
To update a course that has already been published:
- Navigate to Domains & Publishing.
- Edit the published course's settings:
- Scroll down to the Group Access section, and deselect "Accessible to all users on the catalog page"
- This will expand the group selection:
- Move the groups that can view this course to the "Selected student groups" column.
- Optional: Selecting the option to "Strictly enforce group access" will limit access to just those students in these groups. If this option is not enabled, students outside of the selected groups with the course URL will still be able to register to this course.
- Click Save.
Once you have defined which group(s) can see this course in the catalog, the options for visibility and accessibility are limited to only those students who are part of the assigned group.
- Navigate to the Groups page.
- Click the Edit Courses Icon:
- Move the desired courses to the "Selected Courses" column:
- Click Save to apply the group access changes.
- The Published Course Settings (from Domains & Publishing) will apply to the selected groups.
Once you have defined which courses this group can see on the catalog, the options for visibility and accessibility will to be limited to only those students who are part of this assigned group.