Making a Course Visible and Accessible to Select Groups

Avatar
by Hong Chau
Follow

You can define which courses are visible and accessible to students based on their group membership.

Use "Student Groups" to update course visibility and course accessibility:

  • If a course is visible to a select group, this means students with group permission to this course can see the course details, curriculum, and registration options for the course.
    • Note: If students outside of this student group have access to this course URL, they'll be able to enroll in the course.
  • If a course is accessible to a select group, only students with explicit permissions can gain access to the course details, curriculum page, and registration options. Students outside of the select group will not be able to enroll in the course. Use the "Enforce Access Based on Visibility" option to apply this logic.

Step 1: Create a group

You will first need to create a student group and assign students to that group.

Step 2: Update the Group Visibility & Access

Within the dashboard, you can update group visibility and access at the published course level or on the group settings page.

Published Course Settings:

From "Domains & Publishing," you can update the "Group Visibility and Access" setting for a course that has already been published, or update it at the time of publishing.

To update a course that has already been published:

  1. Navigate to "Domains & Publishing."
  2. Edit the published course's settings:

    Screen_Shot_2019-04-25_at_3.55.44_PM.png

  3. Scroll down to the "Group Visibility & Access" section, and choose one option for "Default Visibility For This Course:"
    • "Visible to all students", or
    • "Hidden from all students"

      Screen_Shot_2019-05-05_at_9.21.50_PM.png
      Note: The option to choose at this level should be informed by the students who should see this course. For example, to make this course visible to the majority of your students but hidden from specific groups, start with "Visible to all students" and choose the groups who should not see this course. Conversely, to hide this course for the majority of your students except for a subset of groups of students, start with "Hidden from all students" and choose which groups should see this course.
  4. In the "Group" section:
    • If you choose "Visible to all students," move specific groups to hide this course to the "Selected groups" column:

      Screen_Shot_2019-05-08_at_9.21.49_AM.png

    • If you choose "Hidden from all students," move specific groups to make this course visible to "Selected groups" column: Screen_Shot_2019-05-08_at_9.22.08_AM.pngOptional: Selecting the option to "Enforce Access Based on Visibility" will limit access to only those students in groups with visibility. If this option is not enabled, students outside of the selected groups with the course URL will still be able to register for this course.enforce_access.png
  5. Click Save

Once you have defined which group(s) can see this course in the catalog, the options for visibility and accessibility are limited to only those students who are part of the assigned group.

Group Settings:

  1. Navigate to the Groups page.
  2. Click the "Edit Courses" icon: Screen_Shot_2019-05-08_at_9.25.00_AM.png
  3. Move desired courses to the "Courses that have been made visible" column: Screen_Shot_2019-05-08_at_9.25.48_AM.png
  4. Move desired courses to the "Courses that have been hidden" column: Screen_Shot_2019-05-08_at_9.25.57_AM.png
  5. Click Save to apply the group access changes.
  6. The "Published Course Settings" (from "Domains & Publishing") will apply to the selected groups. 

Once you have defined which courses this group can see on the catalog, the options for visibility and accessibility will be limited to only those students who are part of this assigned group.

Powered by Zendesk