Find, download, edit, or delete existing an uploaded content asset

Avatar
by Macz Norton
Follow

You can manage the content, or assets, that you have uploaded to your training site’s lessons in "Assets."

Assets include the standard types of content (documents, images, videos, iFrame), while "SCORM" stores any SCORM/HTML content you upload to Skilljar and "Quizzes" stores any quizzes you create in Skilljar.

 

 In this article:

 

Learn more: Find, download, edit, or delete SCORM/HTML content

 

Find uploaded content

You can choose how many assets you want to display on the table from the dropdown menu at the bottom of the table - 10, 25, 50, or 100 items per page. By default, up to 100 assets will display in each table page. If you have more than 100 assets, you can click the page arrows at the bottom of the table to move between pages.

To find content, you can use the search bar or reorder a column in the Assets table.

 

Use the search bar

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Assets."
  2. On the “Assets” page, type a keyword in the search bar.
  3. Click Go or click “Enter” on your keyboard. Content titles matching the keyword will populate in the Assets table.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-12_at_04.35_PM.gif

 

Reorder a column in the Asset table

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Assets."
  2. On the “Assets” page, choose which column you want to reorder in the Asset table.
  3. Click the column title to reorder the column by descending or ascending.

Note: You can reorder the “Asset name,” “Type,” “Created at,” and “Last updated” columns. The “Used in lesson?,” “Download,” “Edit,” and “Delete” columns do not support column reordering. The columns that support reorder functionality have an up and down arrow icon in the column header.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-12_at_04.37_PM.gif

 

Download content from Skilljar

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Assets."
  2. On the “Assets” page, choose which asset you want to download.
  3. Click the download icon in the “Download” column. The content will download to your local computer.

Note: You can download content that you have uploaded to Skilljar. You are not able to download content that you have embedded in Skilljar. The content that supports the download functionality has a download icon in the content row’s “Download” column.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-12_at_04.33_PM.gif

 

Edit content

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Assets."
  2. On the “Assets” page, choose which asset you want to edit.
  3. Click the pen icon in the “Edit” column. The “Edit Asset” page will open.
  4. On this page, you can:
    1. Download the asset.
    2. Replace the asset.
    3. Edit the asset “Display Name.”
    4. Embedded assets only: View original content.
    5. Video files only: Change the aspect ratio.
  5. If you make changes, click Save.

Note: The changes you make to an asset will change across any lessons and courses where the asset is used.

Tip: If you replace a file, edit the asset name to a new name. Assets are cached for up to 24 hours, so replacing the file using a new filename rather than overwriting it will ensure the new content is immediately available to students.

 

Delete content

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Assets."
  2. On the “Assets” page, choose which asset you want to delete.
  3. Click the X in the “Delete” column. A dialogue box will display: “dashboard.skilljar.com says Are you sure you want to delete this asset?”
  4. Click OK.
  5. Reload your browser to confirm the asset has been deleted.

Note: Deleting an asset will permanently remove it from your organization and cannot be undone.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-12_at_04.30_PM.gif

 

Frequently asked questions

Why does a specific asset not have a delete icon?

If an asset is not used in any lesson, a delete icon will appear. Therefore, the delete icon will only be available for assets that are not used in a lesson.

 

Can all of my organization’s dashboard users see all of the available assets?

No. If you have invited dashboard users as Content Managers, they will only be able to see the assets for the courses to which they have access. Those will full admin access to the dashboard can see all of your organization’s available assets.

Powered by Zendesk