Allowing Students to Self Service Re-Enroll in a Course

Avatar
by Mike Howard
Follow

This course-level setting allows students to re-enroll in a course on their own without the need for administrator action.

When combined with the setting that allows a student to complete a course with a "FAILED" success status, students are now able to immediately re-enroll in a course they've failed in order to achieve a "PASSED" success status. 

Allow Student Re-enrollment Immediately upon Course Completion

This setting applies at the course level and can be enabled while publishing a new course or while editing a published course. 

While publishing a new course:

  1. Navigate to Course Management within the Skilljar Dashboard
  2. Pick the course to be published and select "Manage Course" > "Publish Course"
  3. Scroll down to "Enrollment Settings" to view the options for "Self-service Re-enrollment" and "Course Progress"
  4. For Self-service Re-enrollment, select the option "When students complete the course, enable them to re-enroll in the course immediately."
  5. For Course Progress, select the option "Create a new course progress each time a student enrolls in the course"

Screen_Shot_2019-08-01_at_2.57.45_PM.png

While editing a published course:

  1. Navigate to Domains and Publishing
  2. Pick the desired course below "Your Published Courses" and "Edit"
  3. Scroll down to "Enrollment Settings" to view the options for "Self-service Re-enrollment" and "Course Progress"
  4. For Self-service Re-enrollment, select the option "When students complete the course, enable them to re-enroll in the course immediately."
  5. For Course Progress, select the option "Create a new course progress each time a student enrolls in the course"

Screen_Shot_2019-08-01_at_2.57.45_PM.png

Frequently Asked Questions 

Do students need to re-purchase a paid course if they decide to re-enroll? 

Yes, currently students who failed a course and need to re-enroll to achieve a successful course completion status would need to re-purchase the course upon re-enrollment. 

What does the student experience look like when they decide to re-enroll in a course? 

The student will navigate back to the Curriculum page and be presented with the option to "Take again". Clicking this button will re-enroll the student in the course, and it will respect the relevant course progress setting (create a new course progress or continue with the existing course progress). 

Screen_Shot_2019-01-11_at_3.12.13_PM.png

If a student registers for a Live Training event and does not attend, would they be able to re-enroll in the course to register for another event?

In this scenario, the lesson would not be completed, and the student would not be able to re-enroll since they did not complete the course. To allow the student to re-enroll, admins can navigate to Live Training and can mark a student as attended but with a "FAILED" success status. This will then trigger a successful course completion and allow the student to immediately re-enroll in the course to sign up for another Live Training event. 

 

Powered by Zendesk