Find and edit an existing course

Avatar
by Macz Norton
Follow

You can manage the courses that you have created for your training site(s) in "Courses."

 

In this article:

 

Learn more: Create a new course

 

Find a course you created in Skilljar

You can choose how many courses you want to display on the table from the dropdown menu at the bottom of the table - 10, 25, 50, or 100 items per page. By default, up to 100 courses will display in each table page. If you have more than 100 courses, you can click the page arrows at the bottom of the table to move between pages.

To find courses, you can use the search bar, filter by “Domains,” or reorder a column in the Courses table.

 

Use the search bar

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Courses."
  2. On the “Courses" page, type a keyword in the search bar.
  3. Click Go or click “Enter” on your keyboard. Course titles matching the keyword will populate in the Courses table.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-14_at_09.32_AM.gif

 

Filter by “Domains”

If you have more than one domain, you can filter by “Domains.”

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Courses."
  2. On the “Courses" page, click “Domains: All.”
  3. Select the training domain(s) to filter courses by the domain on which courses are published.
  4. Click Apply to filter the Courses table. Click Cancel to cancel your filter. Click Reset to reset the Courses table to its unfiltered state.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-14_at_09.47_AM.gif

 

Reorder a column in the Courses table

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Courses."
  2. On the “Courses" page, choose which column you want to reorder in the Courses table.
  3. Click the column title to reorder the column by descending or ascending.

Note: You can reorder the “Course,” “Created at,” and “Last updated” columns. The “Domains” column does not support column reordering. The columns that support reorder functionality have an up and down arrow icon in the column header.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-14_at_09.33_AM.gif

 

Edit an existing course

  1. From the “Course Management” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click "Courses."
  2. On the “Courses" page, choose which course you want to edit.
  3. Click the name of the course in the “Course” column. The “Curriculum” tab will open.
  4. On the “Curriculum” tab, you can:
    1. Reorder the existing curriculum.
    2. Add a “New Section.”
    3. Add a “New Lesson.”
    4. Edit the lesson “Title.”
    5. Edit the lesson “Content.”
    6. Edit the lesson “Summary.”
    7. Add or change the lesson “Downloadable content.”
    8. Adjust the lesson “Settings,” including:
      1. Select or deselect “Disable Automatic Completion.”
      2. Select or deselect “Optional Lesson.”
      3. Select or deselect “Hide Disqus Pane.”
      4. Select or deselect “Display in Fullscreen./”
      5. Enter a “Lesson Time” to display on the detail, curriculum, and lesson pages for the course.
      6. Add a “Tooltip description” to display on the course detail page when students hover over the lesson title.
    9. If you make changes to a lesson, click Save Lesson. If you want to delete a lesson, click Delete Lesson.
  5. Click the “Details” tab.
  6. On the “Details” tab, you can:
    1. Remove the “Promo image.”
    2. Upload a “Promo video,” add an “Embed Link,” or add an existing asset from “Your Files.”
    3. Edit the course “Title.”
    4. Edit the course “Short Description.”
    5. Edit the course “Long description html.”
    6. Adjust the course settings for:
      1. “Lesson Display.”
      2. “Lesson Navigation.”
      3. “Collapse Sections.”
      4. “Course Score.”
      5. “Course Time.”
      6. “Registration Actions.”
      7. “Completion Actions.”
    7. If you make changes to the course “Details” tab, click Save.
  7. On the “Edit Course” page, you can click the Preview, Manage Course, or Bulk Upload buttons to:
    1. Preview the course “Detail Page” or the course “Curriculum Page.”
    2. Publish the course
    3. Clone the course
    4. Delete the course
    5. Edit Content Managers
    6. Bulk upload either a “Video, PDF, or Audio” file or a “SCORM 1.2 / Web package” file.

Note: The changes you make to a course will change across any domains where the course is published.

Screen_Recording_2019-06-14_at_09.36_AM.gif

Frequently asked questions

Can all of my organization’s dashboard users see all of the available course?

No. If you have invited dashboard users as Content Managers, they will only be able to see the courses to which they have access. Those will full admin access to the dashboard can see all of your organization’s available courses.

 

Why can’t I see the option to filter by “Domains” on the “Courses” page?

If you only have one training site, or training domain, you will not see the option to filter by “Domains” on the “Courses” page.

Powered by Zendesk