Setting Visibility and Access for a Course Series

Avatar
by Alex Calvert
Follow

You can choose to make a course series visible or hidden from a certain student group(s) on your training site’s course catalog page. You can also choose to enforce access to a course series based on the visibility you choose.

In this article:

You can manage course series visibility and access within the Catalog settings page. You can then verify that the course series visibility settings are appropriate at the group level.

Instructions

Screen_Recording_2019-09-20_at_12.31_PM.gif

  1. From the “Domains & Publishing” dropdown in the Dashboard left navigation bar, click “Domains.”
  2. Select the pencil icon under the catalog settings icon of the domain of your choice. Next, select the course series tab and select the desired course series. Scroll down that course series's settings page until you reach the section labeled Group Visibility & Access

    Screen_Shot_2019-09-20_at_12.36.27_PM.png

     

    Set visibility and access for a course series

    You can choose the default catalog visibility for a course series to your training domain. Once you choose whether the course series is visible or hidden by default on the course catalog page, then you can choose to whitelist or blacklist the course series on the course catalog for a specific group(s), if any.

    You can also strictly enforce the ability for a  group(s) of students to gain access to a course series based on the visibility settings for that group. Screen_Shot_2019-09-20_at_9.51.54_AM.png

    Tip: Your choice of the default visibility for the course series as either “Visible to all students” or “Hidden from all students” should be informed by the subset of students who should see this course series. For example:

    • To make this course series visible to the majority of your students and hidden from a specific group(s) on the course catalog, start with "Visible to all students" and choose the group(s) who should not see this course series. 
    • Conversely, to hide this course series for the majority of your students and visible for a specific group(s) on the course catalog, start with "Hidden from all students" and choose which group(s) should see this course series. Set group visibility and access for a published course series.

  3. Once default visibility is set, you can then specify the groups whose visibility you would like to update. 
    • If you have selected “Visible to all students,” the published course series is visible by default on your training site’s course catalog.
    • If you have selected “Hidden from all students,” the published course series is hidden by default on your training site’s course catalog.
  4. By moving Groups to the column on the right, you are either whitelisting those groups to view the course series hidden by default or blacklisting the series to be hidden from selected groups when the default is visible by default.
  5. Select “Enforce Access Based On Visibility” to limit those students who can gain access to the course series to those who are able to see the course on the training site course catalog.
  6. Click Save.

Review and/or set course series visibility for a specific group

Reviewing the course series visibility for a specific group gives you a snapshot of the default visibility for all of the series on all of your training domains, as well as the specific course series for which the group has been whitelisted or blacklisted.

Screen_Shot_2019-09-20_at_12.57.47_PM.png

  1. Click “Groups” in the Dashboard left navigation bar.
  2. In the “Edit Visibility” column in the “Groups” table, click the edit course icon for the Group you want to edit. From the “Groups: Course” page, select the tab labeled Course Series. There are two sections on this page to change visibility:
    1. “Course Series made visible to this group.”
    2. “Course Series hidden from this group.”
  3. Find the series that you want to review and/or update the visibility.
    1. If the course series is in the “Course Series made visible to this group” section, the course series is hidden by default on your training site’s course catalog.
    2. If the course series is in the “Course Series hidden from this group” section, the course series is visible by default on your training site’s course catalog.
  4. In the section you want to update, click the course series in the left column you want to either:
    1. Whitelist for the group, if the course is in the “Course Series made visible to this group” section, or
    2. Blacklist for the group, if the course is in the “Course Series hidden from this group.”
  5. Click the arrow icon. The course series moves to the right column.
  6. Click Save.
    1. In the “Course Series made visible to this group,” section, the course is now whitelisted.
    2. In the “Course Series made visible to this group” section, the course is now blacklisted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Powered by Zendesk