Bulk Purchasing Courses, Paths, & Plans in Skilljar

by Jeff Richmond
Follow

When using a Payment Processor to Sell courses for your training platform, Students can have the option to purchase one or multiple seats to the training content on the platform. 

In this article, we will review options in Setting up Bulk purchasing for your courses, paths, & plans, and how this will work from your student's perspective. 

Setting Max Checkout QTY in the Publishing Settings

While publishing your offer, after setting a price, you can set the maximum number of seats that a single student can buy in a transaction - this is set by default to 30, but can be updated to any number you want which will influence the student workflow when they are checking out and purchasing a course. 

Screen_Shot_2020-09-25_at_3.24.24_PM.png

 

Student Workflow: Bulk Purchase

When a Student is checking out, they will have the option to select more than one seat when purchasing the offer. The price will be automatically updated to reflect the price of the total for all of the seats selected. 

Screen_Shot_2020-08-23_at_5_14_48_PM.png

When a user purchases for themselves or multiple quantities, Skilljar generates a license that can be used for the purchased number of users. In the ‘Share it’ section, the purchaser can copy this license code link. They can also decide to register themselves, which applies the generated license code in the background.

 

NOTE: Once the purchaser navigates away from this screen,  will no longer be able to generate the "SHARE IT" link, so please remind your students to save this before registering themselves in the course.

35530136-5882-41b4-9b1d-56b66fc7b1a3.png

Students who are sent the link will be able to register and consume the training content without needing to input payment information.

 

Student Workflow: Purchase Single Course For Another

Skilljar also offers students the ability to choose if they are purchasing for themselves or for someone else. They are also able to select their events before they purchase an offer for themselves or browse events when they purchase for others:

Screen_Shot_2020-09-25_at_4.06.25_PM.png

 

Student Workflow: Email Confirmation

When a student completes a Purchase for multiple seats, they should receive an email that has the Order information and a link to the course. As mentioned in the note above, this email will not have the link that can be shared to other students who they want to grant access from this purchase. 

Screen_Shot_2020-08-23_at_5_18_41_PM.png

 

Admin Workflow: Understanding Bulk Purchases in the Order Report

If a student has purchased multiple seats and shared these seats with others, you will see the original purchase and other orders with a price of $0.00 and a promo code that starts with "bulk" used for all learners who got access from this bulk purchase in the Order Report:

Screen_Shot_2020-09-25_at_4.16.28_PM.png

You can also see within the Order ID view that the purchaser has transaction information, while the other orders do not, as they were free:

Purchaser:

Screen_Shot_2020-09-25_at_4.18.11_PM.png

Non Purchaser:

Screen_Shot_2020-09-25_at_4.18.55_PM.png

 

 

 

Powered by Zendesk